Coelbren lies on high ground at around 250m above sea level between the Upper Swansea and Dulais Valleys of South Wales, on the southern edge of the Bannau Brycheiniog National Park, in an area of great natural beauty.
Encompassing the area are two Sites of Special Scientific Interest: Gors Llwyn and Graig Llech, protected conservation sites designated for important habitats, rare plant or animal species and geological formations. At the head of Graig Llech is the Henrhyd Falls, at 90ft (27m) the highest waterfall in South Wales and one of only two that you can walk behind.
Coelbren has a rich historical and industrial archaeological heritage. On the fringe of the village is a Roman fort that lies on Sarn Helen, a Roman road linking the fort to others at Neath and Brecon. It was occupied about AD74-84 and excavated in 1904-1907. There is also a Roman marching camp not far away.
The church, Capel Coelbren, dates from the 16th century and is remarkable for not being dedicated to a patron saint. It may have originated as a chapel of ease for Cistercian monks from Neath Abbey (founded 1130, dissolved 1539), whose grange once extended into this area, and their estate workers.
With industrial developments from local coal mines, ironworks and quarries, Coelbren became important first for its tramroad network and then as a station on the Neath-Brecon Railway, carrying both freight and passengers from 1867. When a link to the Swansea Vale Railway was opened in 1873, Coelbren Junction Station connected Neath and Swansea with Brecon and the West Midlands.
A vibrant mining community developed here in response to growing industrialisation. It attracted immigration to the new sources of employment, first from agricultural West Wales and then England, with others arriving from Spain, Portugal and Ireland.
Coelbren Miners’ Welfare Hall was erected and managed by working miners and their families to promote education, recreation, socialisation and the well-being of mining families. It opened in 1925 and remains an essential part of village life.
Coelbren Primary School opened in 1894 and remained at the heart of the community until closure in 2011.
Today, Coelbren attracts many visitors all year round to its beautiful surroundings. It is home to over 500 residents in the village and on outlying farms. The wider area offers a variety of outdoor activities and places of interest.